All your friends are... well, hate to say it, but they're somewhat correct in their beliefs.
Torchwood has been going for 3 seasons. The first 2 seasons are, to me, shows only a fan of Doctor Who could love. It's kinda like X-files meets Doctor Who, with a lot of recycled plots.
But the 3rd season/series, this 5-part miniseries, this was something different. This was excellent!
The first two seasons were pretty much rubbish though there were some high spots (James Marsters' guest appearances). But this 5 episode stint was in a world of its own. I can't recommend it enough.
I tried watching the first season and just couldn't get through it, not even to see James Marsters eventually when he would arrive (Season 2, I'm guessing).
I don't suppose I can skip the first two seasons and just watch the third because all you Brits are making it sound really great.
Gotta say I'm not on the lovin' it side over here.
I came up with 5 easy ways to end the show that didn't have to put a child in direct danger and then KILL THE CHILD. If folks don't agree with me, well too bad, but putting children in real danger (as opposed to the group "We are coming") is not something I want to see, especially since it was such a senseless and useless excuse to give us a depressing ending.
I don't watch the show to be depressed. I want an uplifting and happy ending with and occasional setback (eg: Tosh and Owen).
no subject
Date: 2009-07-10 09:10 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-11 12:49 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-11 02:02 am (UTC)Torchwood has been going for 3 seasons. The first 2 seasons are, to me, shows only a fan of Doctor Who could love. It's kinda like X-files meets Doctor Who, with a lot of recycled plots.
But the 3rd season/series, this 5-part miniseries, this was something different. This was excellent!
no subject
Date: 2009-07-11 02:56 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-11 03:11 am (UTC)I don't suppose I can skip the first two seasons and just watch the third because all you Brits are making it sound really great.
no subject
Date: 2009-07-11 05:59 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-07-13 01:10 pm (UTC)I came up with 5 easy ways to end the show that didn't have to put a child in direct danger and then KILL THE CHILD. If folks don't agree with me, well too bad, but putting children in real danger (as opposed to the group "We are coming") is not something I want to see, especially since it was such a senseless and useless excuse to give us a depressing ending.
I don't watch the show to be depressed. I want an uplifting and happy ending with and occasional setback (eg: Tosh and Owen).
Grrrrrrrrrr...